Skip to main content
Skip to main menu


2020 Bartholomew Award: Wendy Zomlefer

Thursday, June 4, 2020 - 8:39am
Wendy Zomlefer

Congratulations to Wendy Zomlefer for being awarded the 2020 Bartholomew Award from the Southern Appalachian Botanical Society! 

The Elizabeth Ann Bartholomew Award represents the Southern Appalachian Botanical Society’s highest recognition bestowed upon an individual. It honors the memory of its namesake’s untiring service to the public, to plant systematics, and to the Society. It is presented to individuals who have distinguished themselves in professional and public service that advances our knowledge and appreciation of plants and their scientific, cultural, and aesthetic values, and/or exceptional service to the society. The quality of the nominees and difficulty of arriving at a decision is a testament to the members of our society!

It is with great pleasure that we congratulate Dr. Wendy B. Zomlefer on being selected the 2020 recipient of the Bartholomew Award.

Wendy has excelled in each of the areas mentioned above. As many of you know, Wendy has been actively involved with SABS for many years, serving as Council Member-at-Large (2009-2011), Chair of the Student Presentation Awards Committee (2010-2011), President-Elect (2011-2012), President (2012-2014), and Past President (2014-2015). Additionally, she has reviewed a dozen manuscripts for Castanea over the past 15 years!    

The letters of support received by the Committee for her nomination consistently praised her efforts in education, scholarship, and service. Selected comments from these letters will be shared with SABS members when next we meet in 2021. At the same time, Wendy will be presented with a Bartholomew Award plaque. Until that time, the members of the Bartholomew Committee felt that no person could do a better job of describing the monumental impact that Dr. Zomlefer has had in her field than Dr. Richard Carter did in his letter of nomination. 

Once again, the Elizabeth Ann Bartholomew Award Committee is proud to have this opportunity to recognize Dr. Zomlefer for her service to our profession, our field, her students, the public, and our Society. She thoroughly deserved this recognition!

Conley K. McMullen
Chair, Elizabeth Ann Bartholomew Award Committee

Support us

We appreciate your financial support. Your gift is important to us and helps support critical opportunities for students and faculty alike, including lectures, travel support, and any number of educational events that augment the classroom experience. Click here to learn more about giving.

Give Now

Every dollar given has a direct impact upon our students and faculty.